Book Review: Cat Versus Human by Yasmine Surovec

Cat Versus Human by Yasmin Survec


I hadn’t heard of the Cat Versus Human blog before, which I found quite surprising as I’ve made it no secret that I’m a huge cat lover.  Adorable cat cartoons are hugely popular on the internet (and with myself!) and so I was eager to read and review this book.

Yasmine Surovec creates beautifully simple and hilarious comics; her storyboards are sure to describe your cat’s behaviour accurately and will bring a smile to your face. We meet the boyfriend (the dog lover who just doesn’t understand), and we learn the differences between a “cat lady” and a “crazy cat lady”. However, the cartoons are also strangely sadistic at times (e.g. kitty situations involving injured human limbs…), which adds to the hilarity.

I don’t think this quite worked as an ebook, which is how I read it (this is not a problem because the book will be available in paperback!) because these sorts of books are great to flip through occasionally or to curl up with when you’re feeling down, and reading them on the computer takes away the fun (I did not have an e-reader at the time). However, this did not affect my rating of the book. Cat Versus Human is a great coffee table book, something your guests will point at and ask “Ooh what’s that?” and then pick up with fascination. It would be a lovely gift for fans of LOLcats or Simon’s Cat.

This book was obtained as an eGalley from the publisher Andrews McMeel Publishing.

My Rating: ★★★★

Leave a Comment

