In My Mailbox [1]

In My Mailbox (IMM) is weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren. It’s a chance for people to tell others about the books they received that week.

It’s so typical that I started this blog around the time my self-imposed book-buying ban started. I don’t actually have many books to show you that I’ve bought. Instead, I thought I’d tell you about the eGalleys I’ve received and the pre-orders (it doesn’t count if the book isn’t released yet!) I’ve made.


Pre-orders:
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
John Green. What can I say? I’ve actually only read Paper Towns but I own the rest of his books and hopefully will get to read them soon.

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
Jack the Ripper, ghosts, and London? Yes please! I’m hoping more young adult mysteries emerge.


Bought / Received:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
I haven’t actually received this yet as I had to get it ordered in by my local indie bookstore. I had my eye on it for ages and so I made an exception and broke my book-buying ban. It seems like such a unique book: the storyline, the vintage photographs, and the fact it’s printed on photography paper. I could’ve bought the ebook but I think the print version is much more special.

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
Like many of you, I received Bloodlines from Penguin Books recently. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the Vampire Academy and so I can’t wait to get stuck into Bloodlines!


eGalleys:
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
“A heartbreaking and redemptive novel about the meaning of flowers, the meaning of family, and the meaning of love.”

Prized by Caragh M. O’Brien
I have the first book, Birthmarked, although I’ve not read it yet, and so I was elated when I saw that the sequel was on NetGalley. I’ll be able to read the sequel straight after now!

The Butterfly Clues by Kate Ellison
“Lo … attempts to piece together the mysterious “butterfly clues,” with the unlikely help of a street artist named Flynt, Lo quickly finds herself caught up in a seedy, violent underworld much closer to home than she ever imagined”.

You Are My Only by Beth Kephart
“The riveting stories of Emmy and Sophie—alternating narratives of loss, imprisonment, and freedom regained—escalate with breathless suspense toward an unforgettable climax.”

Ashfall by Mike Mullin
“With a combination of nonstop action, a little romance, and very real science, this is a story that is difficult to stop reading and even more difficult to forget.”

Saving June by Hannah Harrington
“When her older sister commits suicide and her divorcing parents decide to divide the ashes, Harper Scott takes her sister’s urn to the one place June always wanted to go: California.”

That’s all for now!

30 thoughts on “In My Mailbox [1]

  1. I want to read MPH for Peculiar Children. The only book I’m allowing myself to buy anytime soon, though, will be Dust & Decay.

  2. Congrats on your first IMM! I’ve been following the vlogbrothers for a while and dying to read John Green’s books. And you’ll get a signed copy, yay! <3 Have you read Maureen Johnson before? I've heard she's a great author, but I don't know which book to start from…

    • Thank you! YES…. I am very excited about that. I originally preordered from Amazon.com but ordered again from Amazon.co.uk when he’d actually confirmed that, yes, it would still be signed. The waiting time for .com was something like 6 weeks.

      I read 13 Little Blue Envelopes recently and I thought it was a really fun book. I didn’t absolutely love it though. It’s probably a good book to start with (although, it’s the only one I’ve read, ha) as it seems to be her most popular.

  3. Lots of cool stuff here and some awesome covers. So you read the VA series too… I’d be interested to hear how you think this one stands up against them. Have a great week!

  4. Miss Peregrine’s is awesome! While I was waiting for my physical copy to get here I got the e-copy from the library. I ended up not getting far, because it wasn’t all that easy to see the pictures. So you definitely made the right choice!

    Thanks for stopping by mine! Enjoy your books.

  5. I’ve been wanting to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children too! Let us know how you like it! Ashfall sounds good too!
    My IMM…
    -Heather @BookStacksOnDeck

    • I originally wasn’t too sure about Ashfall but I decided to go for it in the end so hopefully I’ll enjoy it. I’ll definitely be posting a review of Miss Peregrine’s… :D Thank you for visiting!

  6. Thanks for commenting on my IMM (:

    I pre-ordered The Fault in Our Stars, too – John Green is awesome. I’m jealous you got eGalleys for You Are My Only and Saving June – I can’t wait to read those (:

    • You’re welcome :) Thank you for deciding to visit me too!

      I actually realised afterwards that I haven’t actually been approved for Saving June, oops xD You Are My Only is “auto approve” on NetGalley though!

  7. Name of the Star has such a different cover! Wow. Really liked Bloodlines (reviewing it as we speak)!

    Enjoy your books and thanks for stopping by

  8. i pre-ordered the name of the star too a while ago. super excited for it to come out. miss peregrine’s is a great read–hope you enjoy as much as i did. awesome books this week. enjoy and happy reading :)

    i hope you can stop by and check out our WoW this week.

    -michelle

  9. Bloodlines is fantastic!! I’m a huge VA fan and this certainly lived up to expectations. I think I might have even enjoyed it more than the first VA book. Freaking ADORE ADRIAN!! <3 Also loved Saving June, such a great book! Really excited to read Name of the Star and The Butterfly Clues. Enjoy your books! :)

  10. I can’t wait to read Miss Peregrine. I don’t know a lot about it, but the photos have me hooked regardless ;)

  11. Miss Peregrine’s sounds epic and its on the top of my wishlist. I haven’t read any John Green, but I would like to! Happy reading :)

    Stop by my IMM

  12. Great set! I loved Bloodlines. I can’t wait to read Name of the Star.
    My IMM

  13. miss pergrines is meant to be awesome, how creepy is that cover lol. thanks for sharing your IMM some great looking titles

  14. I’m so jealous that you got The Name of The Star. Been hearing good things about that book. New follower. Come visit me over at Livre De Amour-Books of Love Book Blog.

  15. Nice to discover a new WP book blogger! I’m a new follower. Looks like we picked up the same books at NG. Lots of treasures there this week!

    I love the cover of The Name of the Star. Looking forward to your reviews of Bloodlines and Miss Peregrine.
    Have a good week!

  16. Name of the Star is going to be GREAT. it’s sitting on our bookshelf. Hope you enjoy all your new books!

    Our IMM

  17. Great set! I really love the cover of Saving June! Thanks for stopping by.

  18. The cover on Miss Peregrine is really creepy – especially those two kids on the back in white. Brrrrr.

    I’ve seen a couple of people with The Butterfly Clues this week and I’m intrigued. Looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

  19. I real Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children a month or two ago and really enjoyed it. You’re right, the print version is much more special than the ebook due to the images :)

  20. Nice set of books this week. You are My Only sounds like a super good book.
    Happy reading,
    Book Sniffers Anonymous

Leave a Comment

