Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Genres: Young adult, dystopia, science fiction.

This book has 400 pages and I finished in less than 24 hours. That already should tell you how much I loved it.

I found Delirium to be a mixture of The Hunger Games and Matched. The premise of Delirium is that this particular dystopian society sees love (or amor deliria nervosa) as a disease that needs to be cured by an operation on the brain. Lena, our protagnoist, is nearly 18 years old (the age requirement for having the operation) and is nervous yet excited about her upcoming “procedure” – until she meets Alex.

Delirium is similar to Matched in that citizens do not have a day in who they spend the rest of their life with. The government (“Officials” in Matched, “Regulators” in Delirium) choose who a person is “matched” with and there is no freedom of choice. However, this particular society goes even further and attempts to ensure that a person will never love again. This, according to the Regulators, will make the world a better place: everyone will be happier and safer because love is nothing but destructive. I personally found Delirium to be much more heartbreaking and emotional than Matched and the storyline took a lot less time to develop. The character’s rebellion and resistance to control (as with all dystopian novels!) begins a lot earlier in the novel and this is where the similarities to The Hunger Games begin. This is where we witness the brutality and cruelty of those in charge of these future societies.

However, all three novels are fantastic in their own way and Delirium offers yet another unique look at how a dystopian society could be. It made me want to read even more dystopian literature and I did not feel like I was reading recycled material. I definitely recommend this to people who are already fans of young-adult dystopian literature. And if you haven’t read it before? Do it. You’ll become addicted and emotionally involved in this wonderfully exciting but terrifying genre.

I cannot wait to read Pandemonium (the second novel in the series/trilogy). I’m just sad that I have to wait until 2012!

My Rating: ★★★★★

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. […] so American (I hadn’t met many Americans before!). All three of her novels: Before I Fall, Delirium, and Liesl & Po are very different from each other but are equally as good. She has a talent […]

  2. […] by Anna Carey I quite like dystopias with romance (e.g. Delirium by Lauren Oliver) and so I’m looking forward to this […]

  3. […] adored Delirium when I first read and reviewed it, which was back in February. I had limited experience with dystopia, only having read Matched, The […]

  4. […] Practice. I know, know, but it’s so true! I read through some of my old reviews (over 2 years) sometimes and a lot of them are not very well written. Sometimes I don’t even say […]

Leave a Comment

