Behold the Pretty Books! / An eBook Haul

It’s my first book haul of the year and, as you will see, I didn’t hold off on buying eBooks over the past few months. I’ve found that it’s much easier to acquire eBooks because they don’t sit there in a massive pile staring at me – until I type them out! 12 Days of Kindle launched in December and finished in early January. I can never resist buying eBooks in the sale, especially as it encourages me to purchase books I may not have come across, such as The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth, or books I’d normally hesitate to buy, such as The Goldfinch because it’s so huge! And some of these eBooks are review copies – it seems like all the brilliant books became available at once! I’ve linked each book to Goodreads as usual, so just click on the titles to read more about the book.

Behold the Pretty Books! / An eBook HaulGeekhood: Close Encounters of the Girl Kind by Andy Robb
The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee
Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain
Keeper of the Light by Diane Chamberlain
The Courage Tree by Diane Chamberlain
Tape by Steven Camden

Andy Robb is a much-loved author in the YA blogsphere so I’m very much looking forward to Geekhood – I’ve read such brilliant reviews! I also couldn’t resist buying The Universe Versus Alex Woods and The Goldfinch, both such acclaimed – but very different – novels that I may not have picked up if it weren’t for the interwebz. I also came across The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth and it caught my eye: Clemency is utterly penniless and entirely alone, until she’s taken in by the marvellous Marvels – a madcap family completely unlike her own. But it’s a surprise to them all when she’s mysteriously bundled from the house by the frightening Miss Clawe.

If you’ve read my review of The Lost Daughter, you’ll know that I want to read as much Diane Chamberlain as I can get my hands on, so I downloaded the above three. And Tape sounds like an unusual, quirky and Perks-esque, so I’m looking forward to seeing what’s in store for me there.
Behold the Pretty Books! / An eBook HaulThe Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
17 First Kisses by Rachael Allen
Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
She is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
The Boy That Never Was by Karen Perry
Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn (also known as Morgan Matson)

I have only just noticed that most of these eBooks are contemporary novels! It’s one of my favourite genres at the moment along with mystery. I’ve mentioned before that I love ‘really cute’ contemporary YA, so The Geography of Me and You, 17 First Kisses and Broken Hearts are all up my street. (I’ve already read and loved The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith). Did you know that Morgan Matson is also Katie Finn? Me neither! I adored her YA novels (Second Chance Summer & Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour), so I have to check this out. And I also love YA contemporary that’s ‘really sad’, so She is Not Invisible (isn’t the US cover so different from the UK one?!), Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Maybe One Day (which sounds a little TFiOS-esque) are novels I’m also looking forward to.

And lastly, there’s the highly anticipated We Were Liars, which will be my first E. Lockhart (I’m following the Tumblr!) and The Boy that Never Was sounds like a compelling mystery: Five years ago, three-year-old Dillon disappeared. For his father Harry – who left him alone for ten crucial minutes – it was an unforgivable lapse. Yet Dillon’s mother Robyn has never blamed her husband: her own secret guilt is burden enough.

What eBooks have you bought/downloaded recently?

10 thoughts on “Behold the Pretty Books! / An eBook Haul

  1. Ahhh The Universe Versus Alex Woods is sooo good! Also 12 Days of Kindle also increased my ebooks by quite a bit, but I can’t resist a sale. Looks like a good haul, Stacey!

  2. Wow, this is an amazing book haul! I haven’t read any of these books, but I have heard of a lot of them and they all sound so good! I can’t wait to read your reviews of them!

  3. Yes but Alex Wood was on offer not long ago and it is better to take them when they are than when they are not sot good for you! In 2014 we need to renew our to be read pile anyway…Have a good read!

Leave a Comment

