18 Comments

Hey, Look. It’s Summer!

Hey, Look. It's Summer!

I originally titled this post ‘Is it Summer Yet?’ because London was looking like it’d be experiencing permanent winter, but then THE SUN CAME OUT!

I normally do not like to pick out books to read in advance because then it starts to feel like I have to read them, which then makes me not want to read them. But it’s now genuinely summer – and I love summery books! I’ve only picked four, but I am definitely probably going to read all of them. Click on the title to go to read more about the book on Goodreads.

Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin
I received this book for review. It was unsolicited and I hadn’t heard of it, but I’m super happy I received it – it arrived at the right time. It’s set in East Hampton, which looks like someplace I’d like to be right now.

Summer Sisters by Judy Blume
I came across Kerry’s list of beach books on Hello Giggles, which is where she mentioned Summer Sisters. I have never read Judy Blume, which, in America, is unfathomable. I know most people go for Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret first, but hey.

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill
I bought Meant to Be over a year ago now, so I think it’s about time I pick it up. I’m also a Londoner who loves reading books about London and other Londoners. Perfect.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
IT’S JUST ALL SO CUTE. I really love the look of this book – baby blue and yellow. Can you even get any more summery?

I’m sure there are many more appropriate books to be read this year, but these four are at the top of my summer list.

If you’re also looking for some other suggestions, I’d pick: Second Chance Summer, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, The Statistically Probability of Love at First Sight, The Probability of Miracles, Maine, The Sea Sisters, The Summer I Turned Pretty, Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, I Capture the Castle, The Art of Fielding, The Light Between Oceans, Geek Girl.

And, lastly, because this is Pretty Books, here’s some pretty photographs of books:

Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

Summer Sisters by Judy Blume

Summer Sisters by Judy Blume

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Hey, Look. It's Summer!Hey, Look. It's Summer!

18 comments on “Hey, Look. It’s Summer!

  1. I’ve read Meant To Be, which is totally sweet and definitely funny, and also My Life Next Door, which is a little more angsty but is still a good read. I liked both and I’m sure you will too. I’d love to hear your thoughts after. I haven’t read the other two but I’ll surely give it a try soon. :D

  2. They all look like great reads. Summer Sisters is one of the few Judy Blume books I’ve not read. I’m Brit born and raised, but I somehow managed to consume a ton of Blume books in my childhood/early teens. Her stuff just spoke to me. (Very dramatic, I know.)

  3. I love the covers of all of these books! They all scream happy summer to me. I especially love the one for Meant To be, so pretty. Love all your photo’s too. :D

  4. I live right near London, and I’m pretty impressed with the way the weather has turned out. It was sooo hot today, makes me want to read lovely, summery books. I love the cover for Meant To Be, I really want to read Anna and the French Kiss and Geek Girl, I hear such great things about them!
    Tilly @ Hardcore Heroines

  5. Oooh they all look very pretty and summery, will you be reporting back on if they were good? And glad it’s sunny in London, it’s lovely over here in Ireland, best summer in years :D Such a joy to be able to read out in the sun!

  6. Love, love love your pretty pictures! <3
    Happy reading your summery books! Can't wait to hear what you think of My Life Next Door. I adore the Garrett family in the book so much. :D

  7. You always have the best books and the best photos to go along with them. :> Hahahaha, anyway enjoy reading! Going to watch out for your reviews of these soon. :)

  8. […] timed, I had not heard of it. I was already planning on getting together a little stack of summery books to read and so Rules of Summer went straight onto the […]

  9. […] to Be was the second book I picked up from my little stack of chosen summer books. Travel. Humour. Boys. I’d say that it was an ideal summer read. Julia would argue that it […]

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,723 other followers

