5 Comments

Book Review: Starters by Lissa Price

Book Review: Starters by Lissa Price

Pub. Date: 13th March 2012 (US) 5th April 2012 (UK)
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (UK) Doubleday Childrens (UK)
Pages: 352
Series: Starters (#1)
Readership: Young adult
Genres: Science fiction, dystopia
Rating: ★★★★
Buy: Paperback
More: Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old Callie had to suffer through her parents’ death during the Spore Wars, only a few years ago. She is now a squatter, living with her little brother Tyler and friend Michael, struggling to survive. In an attempt to make her life better she turns to Prime Destinations, a company that ‘rents’ out the bodies of teenagers to over 60s who want to be young again. But a glitch occurs and Callie discovers what her renter really wants to use her body for…

Starters has a fantastic premise. Imagine if a ninety-year-old could rent your body for the day – you’re both hooked up to a computer – and do (almost) anything they wanted? If it were at all possible, I can see why people would choose to donate their body for large sums of money. After all, it’s just like sleeping, right? It has hints of science fiction but at the same time manages to feel like it isn’t taking place in the future. I thought this worked really well because it meant I didn’t feel as detached from the fictional world as I might have been. It could have been happening right now.

I thought Starters was a hugely entertaining book that quickly turned into a dystopian thriller. It throws up a lot of unexpected situations. I especially admired Callie for her courage and bravery throughout the novel; she is put into some pretty intense and frightening situations. Even when the love-interest, Blake, appears, her main priority is looking after Tyler and making sure he’s cared for and safe. She deeply misses her parents and tries to live up to their expectations, even though they’re gone, and remembers what her father taught her. She’s an extremely likeable protagonist to follow throughout this eventful story.

Starters is thrilling, action-packed and seriously creepy.Thankfully readers won’t have to wait too long to find out what happens next because Enders, the sequel, is published December 2012. You can view the book trailer here.

This book was obtained as an eGalley from Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers.

5 comments on “Book Review: Starters by Lissa Price

  1. Really? You sincerely enjoyed this book?
    To be honest, it’s puzzling why it’s on the bestsellers list at all. Normally, I would’ve enjoyed a good dystopia book. I love this genre. But as I read on it became too reminiscent of The Hunger Games or Twilight, and the concept of two boys and a girl protagonist with a choice lacked it’s luster after hearing about it in so many goddamn books. The action sequences were cheesy and not as thought-provoking for the main character as I wish it would’ve been. The ENTIRE book lacked descriptive word of any credible amount, and the dialogue was dull.
    I had to FORCE myself to finish up the last few chapters. But what really, really kills me about this book is that the main idea itself is creative and foreign and it would’ve been an incredible read had the author executed it properly. But she didn’t. So now I’m left with a novel entirely consisting over a “what-could’ve-been”.
    And it was obvious she was going to pick the boy she wasn’t with originally, I could’ve spotted that a mile off, because that’s what Katniss did; she ditched the boy she’s known for years on end and might’ve even had feelings for and went for the other pretty-boy who’s unrealistically nice and understanding, and has ditched HIS family or way of life (IE Peeta= no longer baker boy).
    You wanna know why I picked up this mess in the first place? The back little section that is supposed to encourage me to read it made me laugh. Not happy, “oh, haha, that’s brilliant” laugh. A “god, that sounds vacant of any passion or originality” kind of laugh. And the woman at the book store INSISTED on my reading it. I could’ve wasted my money on a billion other better things.
    So all in all, I disagree with your review, and this book makes me angrier the more I think about it.

    • I think it’s just a pure fun and entertaining read that isn’t meant to be taken too seriously, sort of like the movie In Time. ‘Dystopia’ has become a buzz word and can take lots of different forms. I think Starters has a fascinating dystopian premise that, sure, could’ve been really detailed and focused a lot more on the world-building, but I quickly realised it wasn’t going to be like that and so just went along with it. I can’t say I ever thought it was similar to Twilight or THG as love triangles are abundant in YA and not limited to those two books. It really just meant to a fun action-thriller really so I wouldn’t suggest getting too angry about it ;)

    • I had to laugh reading your review. Really! It’s a book, it’s crazy your so worked up over it! If you didn’t like it then you could have stopped reading it at anytime??? It’s a fun book. Not totally original but who cares!!! Knowone forced you to read it!!!

  2. [...] by Veronica Roth Starters by Lissa Price (e-galley) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews (e-galley) And Then There [...]

  3. [...] by Chad Harbach Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur Starters by Lissa Price Insurgent by Veronica Roth The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (Classic #4) An [...]

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,720 other followers

