8 Comments

In My Mailbox [7]

In My Mailbox (IMM) is weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren. It’s a chance for people to tell others about the books they received that week.

IMM #7

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
I wanted to get some YA Christmas books to read in December and I had to get this one. I’ve heard fantastic things about it. I also want to get Let It Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle and Maureen Johnson.

The Secret of Happy Ever After by Lucy Dillon
I love unsolicited review copies! This sounds wonderfully wintry and bookish; the main character becomes an owner of a bookshop.

Dearly Departed by Lia Habel
This was given to me by Casey. I’m unsure about it because on one hand, it’s about a zombie war and I’m liking zombies lately. On the other hand, I don’t know what to make of romantic zombies and Casey hated it. Hm.

HarperCollins Children's Afternoon Tea

I also attended the HarperCollins Children’s blogger afternoon tea, where I got to meet Maureen Johnson, Robin Jarvis, and Will Hill. It was a fantastic day. I got to meet up with fellow bloggers (I now had nearly met everyone at the event before!) and eat scones with jam and clotted cream. Maureen Johnson informed us that the sequel to The Name of the Star will be called The Madness Underneath. We were given a USB full of exclusive extracts and videos, so I’ll have to check that out. We were also given goodie bags containing the following books:

Slide by Jill Hathaway
I did not realise that this one was already on my wishlist when we were given it. I’m liking YA mystery/thrillers lately: Vee Bell is certain of one irrefutable truth—her sister’s friend Sophie didn’t kill herself. She was murdered.

The Carrier of the Mark
by Leigh Fallon
This isn’t one of my usual genres (paranormal romance) but I’ve been seeing it around a lot lately so I’ll have to check it out.

Department 19 by Will Hill
I had been reading good reviews of Department 19 and so I was happy that we were given it. Will Hill also gave a little speech and he’s very funny and friendly. I didn’t get time to ask him to sign my copy though, unfortunately.

Muse by Rebecca Lim
I didn’t realise this was the third book in the series when I picked it up. Oops! I will most likely do a giveaway unless I manage to read the first book.

The Flask
by Nicky Singer

This is a middle grade novel that sounds a little similar to Eight Keys: Twelve-year-old Jess is grieving for her beloved Aunt Edie, and anxiously awaiting the birth of her twin brothers, when she finds a mysterious glass flask hidden in a desk.

IMM #7

eGalleys:
Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard
This is a YA contemporary backpacker novel and after reading Paper Towns, I am hooked on road trip stories, so I’m looking forward to reading this.

Precious Bones by Mika Ashley-Hollinger
Another middle grade novel. I have been converted! A stunning debut in which a remarkable girl is determined to free her beloved father, accused of not one, but two, murders. If it takes a miracle, then a miracle is what Bones will deliver.

Won:
Lastly, I won a KINDLE! Yes! I referred the most people to Book Riot, a new website for booklovers. I’m extremely happy because my one was damaged aesthetically shortly after buying it. I have been entering contests ever since so I could replace it.

So I’m very happy with what I received this week! What did you guys receive? Feel free to provide a link to your IMM in the comments.

8 comments on “In My Mailbox [7]

  1. I’m so jealous of Slide! That looks fab! And WANDERLOVE. I read it about two months ago now, and just wow. I hope you love it as much as I did.

    Happy reading!

  2. I really want to read Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares! I loved Nick & Norah but I didn’t liked Naomi & Eli’s No Kiss List as much.
    So jealous of all the food! And is that champagne?

  3. Fantastic mailbox! I look forward to Carrier of the Mark as well and Dearly, Departed was great! Hope you enjoy them.

    Giselle
    Xpresso Reads

  4. The have book blogger afternoon teas?!? I want to go!! :D Haha, that’s so cool!

    I really want to get my hands on Carrier of the Mark. Also, I have seen three different covers for Muse by Rebecca Lim now, and each of them are so pretty! I need to start reading this series :)

    You can see my IMM post at the link below!

    Lea @ LC’s Adventures in Libraryland

  5. Great set! So cool that you got to go to a publisher tea!! I really liked Carrier of the Mark too.
    My IMM

  6. You got some really awesome books. :) I’ve been hearing so much about Carrier of the Mark.

    Here is my IMM for this week: IMM(4)

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,690 other followers

