4 Comments

Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Genres: Young adult, science fiction, dystopia.

Synopsis:
Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee – whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not – stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden – a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

Review:
I felt that I couldn’t say I was a fan of young-adult dystopia without reading the Choas Walking trilogy. After seeing (but not fully reading – spoilers aren’t cool) yet another five star review of the book, I thought “enough!”. I logged straight on to my library account and reserved all three books. Why didn’t I just buy them? Well, The Knife of Never Letting Go, I thought, was an beautifully poetic title and one I had been hearing now and again since it was released. However, I had built up connotations over the past three years based on the title and book cover design and had assumed that it was an extremely violent book. I had heard rumours of talking animals and aliens and wasn’t too sure what I was about to be subjected to…

There is, in fact, a talking animal. We’re acquainted with Manchee, the talking (at least, through his thoughts) dog straight away. Throughout the book, I pictured him as the adorable dog in Up and I fell in love with him immediately. Even though Todd, our protagonist, never wanted a dog in the first place, Manchee is extremely loyal and protective of him, except when he needs a poo (no, really).

The Knife of Never Letting Go is a fast-paced, action-adventure novel with a dystopian twist. Prentisstown is seemingly the last habitat on Earth (or is it Earth? You’ll have to read it to see.) yet it has some secrets that we’re about to discover.

I loved absolutely everything about this book, except for one thing: I couldn’t understand why the entire storyline needed to happen. Why was Todd being chased? Even though it is explained to us, I really, truly, do not understand why it was so important that he was captured, so vital to Prentisstown’s aim.

I’m already a little way through the sequel, The Ask and the Answer, and I can tell it’s going to be another thrilling and revealing ride…

I’ve avoided mentioning too much in this review because I’d hate to spoil anything for anyone, but you can always send me a message if you’d like to chat about the book!

My Rating:★★★

4 comments on “Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

  1. [...] the Snow is a perfect story for those who enjoyed the Chaos Walking trilogy or Blood Red Road. There must be something about desolate, climate change-affected worlds that [...]

  2. [...] Our Stars by John Green Harry Potter (Series) by J.K. Rowling The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness The Maze Runner by James Dashner The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton Paper Towns by John [...]

  3. [...] The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness Now, I’m not suggesting you read The Knife of Never Letting Go in a day. I read all three books, consisting of 1,598 pages, in less than 9 days. It was a pretty exhausting experience, but rewarding. I really want to re-read Chaos Walking because I think they’re stand-out books within young adult literature. I will be giving copies away for World Book Night and I hope Todd’s voice will introduce other people to the joy of reading! [...]

  4. […] The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness Journey across a parallel universe in which no thought goes unheard. The Knife of Never Letting Go is an incredible fast-paced, action-adventure novel with a dystopian twist. […]

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,699 other followers

